Link to the US English version

Link to the Russian version

Saint Cyril and Methodius

Read more about Thessalonica for OpenOffice.org!
Read more about Thessalonica for Microsoft Word 97/2000/XP/2003!
Read more about my multilingual fonts!

Tools, similar to Thessalonica

This section contains references to some utilities available on the web, which are intended mostly for working with polytonic (classical) Greek. All these utilities are more or less similar to Thessalonica, because usually they include the same 2 modules, i. e. a keyboard controller and a conversion tool for one or more 8-bit character sets. Of course, each of these programs has its own advantages and disadvantages, and so I desided to provide some information alowing you to compare Thessalonica with other possible solutions and make you choice. However, note that almost all programs listed here are designed to work together with MS Word. As far as I know, Thessalonica for OpenOffice.org is currently unique in its class (especially under Linux).

Ralph Hancock's Antioch

A macro package for Microsoft Word 97/2000/XP/2003, allowing to input Greek and Hebrew text by a very natural way. Antioch is shareware, and a fully functional demo may be downloaded here.

Advantages:

Disadvantages:

Magenta Accentuator (Polytonistis)

Magenta is a Greek company which develops Greek fonts and different software, mostly related with Greek script and language. Its Accentuator (Polytonistis in Greek) allows to input Greek accented characters in different versions of MS Word. It also provides some additional functions, like conversion from older 8-bit formats and hyphenation for polytonic Greek texts. Accentuator is a commertial program, and, although demo versions are available for download, they are not fully functional and can't be unlocked.

Advantages:

Disadvantages:

Stefan Hagel's Multikey

MultiKey is a multilingual utility: it allows typing in different languages, grouped by their script type. The most recent versions also include some VBA macros allowing to convert Greek texts from the WinGreek character set to Unicode. First versions of MultiKey were distributed as shareware, but now it may be used for free.

Advantages:

Disadvantages:

Links to Greek fonts and related software

http://www.sbl-site.org/educational/BiblicalFonts_SBLGreek.aspx

SBL Greek — an excellent font for Classical and Biblical studies by John Hudson.

http://users.ox.ac.uk/~ball0087/download/indexFonts.html

Matthew Robinson's page, which contains links to almost all Greek fonts (Unicode and WinGreek) and keyboard utilities available on the web. I recommend this page to anybody who starts working with classical Greek on a computer.

http://scholarfonts.net/

David J. Perry's site. Here you can download his multilingual font, called Cardo, and his book "Word Processing in Classical Languages", which contains lots of useful information.

http://www.stoa.org/unicode/

Patrick Rourkeís pages on Greek fonts and the web are extremely useful and contain links to almost all the Unicode Greek fonts currently available.

http://faculty.bbc.edu/rdecker/unicode.htm

Rodney J. Deckerís page discusses a number of items related to Unicode in the context of biblical studies.

http://guindo.pntic.mec.es/~jmag0042/alphabet.html

Juan-Jose Marcos' (the author of the Thessalonica Spanish localization) page, devoted to his ALPHABETUM Unicode font. This is a commercial font, but you can download a demo version (which lacks some characters).

My other programs related to classical Greek

XWinGreek

XWinGreek is a small tool which allows typing polytonic Greek in different encodings under X Window system (e. g. in Linux). I've written it because there were no Greek keyboard utilities available for Linux. XWinGreek may be used only with word processing applications, because Unicode plain text editors (like Vim or Emacs) usually provide internal possibilities for developing keyboard layouts. Note that now Thessalonica is better solution for typing polytonic Greek in OpenOffice.org, but XWinGreek still may be useful for other word processors (like KWord or AbiWord).

Ссылка на английскую версию

Ссылка на русскую версию

Святые Кирилл и Мефодий

Прочесть о СОЛУНИ для OpenOffice.org!
Прочесть о СОЛУНИ для Microsoft Word 97/2000/XP/2003!
Прочесть о моих многоязычных шрифтах!

Программы, сравнимые с СОЛУНЬЮ

Этот раздел содержит ссылки на ряд доступных в сети утилит, в основном предназначенных для работы с политоническим (классическим) греческим. Все эти утилиты более или менее подобны СОЛУНИ в том смысле, что обычно в их состав входят те же самые два модуля, то есть контроллер клавиатуры и утилита для преобразования текста из одной или нескольких 8-битных кодировок в Unicode. Естественно, у каждой из этих программ есть свои достоинства и недостатки, которые я и постарался описать, с тем, чтобы Вы могли сравнить их с СОЛУНЬЮ и сделать осознанный выбор. Впрочем, надлежит иметь в виду, что практически все перечисленные здесь утилиты могут функционировать лишь в сочетании с Microsoft Word. Дополнений для OpenOffice.org, сравнимых с СОЛУНЬЮ, насколько мне известно, в настоящее время не существует.

Пакет Antioch Ральфа Хэнкока

Макропакет для Microsoft Word 97/2000/XP/2003, обеспечивающий весьма удобный способ вводить символы греческого и еврейского языков. Распространяется как условно-бесплатная программа (shareware). Полнофункциональную тестовую версию можно загрузить здесь.

Достоинства:

Недостатки:

Magenta Polytonistis

Magenta - греческая компания, известная разработками различного программного обеспечения, в основном связанного с греческой письменностью и языком. Ее программа Polytonistis обеспечивает ввод греческих символов в различных версиях MS Word. Предусмотрены также различные дополнительные функции, в том числе преобразование из устаревших 8-битных кодировок в Unicode и перенос для политонических греческих текстов. Polytonistis - коммерческая программа: демонстрационные версии, доступные для загрузки с сайта Magenta, неполнофункциональны и их возможности не могут быть разблокированы.

Достоинства:

Недостатки:

Программа Multikey Стефана Хагеля

Multikey - многоязычная утилита: она позволяет вводить текст на различный языках, которые группируются по типу письменности. В последних версиях имеются макросы на Visual Basic для преобразования греческого текста из кодировки WinGreek в Unicode. Первоначально MultiKey распространялась как shareware, но теперь ее можно использовать бесплатно.

Достоинства:

Недостатки:

Ссылки на греческие шрифты и связанное с ними программное обеспечение

http://www.sbl-site.org/educational/BiblicalFonts_SBLGreek.aspx

SBL Greek — замечательный шрифт для классических и библейских исследований от Джона Хадсона.

http://www.ucl.ac.uk/GrandLat/greekfonts/indexWelcome.html

Сайт Мэтью Робинсона, содержащий ссылки на большинство греческих шрифтов (Unicode и WinGreek) и клавиатурных утилит, доступных в Сети. С моей точки зрения, знакомство с полезными для классициста ресурсами Интернета нужно начинать именно с этой страницы.

http://scholarfonts.net/

Сайт Дэвида Дж. Перри. Отсюда можно загрузить его многоязычный шрифт Cardo, и его книгу «Word Processing in Classical Languages», в которой содержится масса полезной информации.

http://www.stoa.org/unicode/

Очень полезная страница Патрика Рурке, посвященная использованию греческих шрифтов в Web-дизайне. Содержит ссылки почти на все доступные в настоящее время юникодовые греческие шрифты.

http://faculty.bbc.edu/rdecker/unicode.htm

Страница Родни Дж. Декера, на которой Unicode рассматривается с точки зрения библеистики.

http://guindo.pntic.mec.es/~jmag0042/alphabet.html

Страничка Хуана-Хосе Маркоса (атора испанской локализации СОЛУНИ), посвященная разработанному им шрифту ALPHABETUM Unicode. Шрифт коммерческий: с сайта можно загрузить демонстрационную версию, в которой отсутствует ряд символов.

Другие разработанные мною пакеты, имеющие отношение к классическому греческому

XWinGreek

XWinGreek - небольшая программа, позволяющая вводить греческие символы в нескольких кодировках в оконной системе X Window (например, под управлением Linux). В свое время была призвана покрыть недостаток (точнее, полное отсутствие) греческих клавиатурных утилит для Linux. Использовать XWinGreek имеет смысл только при работе с текстовыми процессорами, так как юникодовые текстовые редакторы (типа Vim или Emacs) обычно предоставляют внутренние средства для настройки клавиатуры, которыми и нужно пользоваться. С появлением СОЛУНИ для OpenOffice.org XWinGreek отчасти теряет актуальность, но всё еще может быть полезен для работы в других текстовых процессорах (например, KWord или AbiWord).